Return to newsletter.

Congratulations to our 2010 Washington Youth Soccer Scholarship Recipients!

14 preps honored with $1,000 college scholarships; Renton’s Britney Boler earns additional $5,000

Washington Youth Soccer is proud to announce the winners of its 2010 annual scholarships, recognizing 14 outstanding young players from across the state with $1,000 each to put towards college tuition.

In addition, one student — Renton’s Britney Boler — was selected to receive a $5,000 overall scholarship award. In all, Washington Youth Soccer gave $19,000 to college-bound seniors this year.

“Each of these young people have demonstrated an impressive commitment to their academics and athletics, and have been outstanding role models for the entire Washington Youth Soccer community,” said CEO/Executive Director Terry Fisher. “We thank them for their hard work and dedication and congratulate them on all they have achieved, and will achieve in the future.”

Washington Youth Soccer annually selects one boy and one girl from each of its seven districts to receive a $1,000 scholarship. To be eligible, student-athletes must be in their senior year of high school, compete on a Washington Youth Soccer team, and be enrolling in their first year of college this fall. Winners are selected from a broad range of applicants on a combination of academic and athletic achievements, and community service.

After choosing one male and one female winner from each of the seven districts, an overall winner was selected to receive the additional $5,000 scholarship. A complete list of winners can be found below.

Congratulations to each of these outstanding young adults, and best of luck at college this fall! To find out more — including how you can see YOUR name on this list next year – visit and click “Scholarships” under the “Events” tab at the top of the home page.

Britney Boler

Ryan Kautz

Brenda Seymour

Sam Linnerooth

Karen McLellan

John Sullivan

Perry Pearsall

Abigail Moseley


Petra Lee

Ellen Rodgers

Keean Joling

Alison Ohashi
2010 Washington Youth Soccer Scholarship Recipients ($1,000 each)
District 1Ryan KautzSnohomish
Brenda SeymourSeattle
District 2Sam LinneroothCarnation
Britney Boler*Renton
District 3John SullivanFircrest
Kaija ReineltVashon
District 4Perry PearsallChimacum
Abigail MoseleyPort Angeles
District 5Christopher CharlsonCamas
Karen McLellanCamas
District 6Petra LeeAirway Heights
Ellen RodgersOkanogan
District 7Keean JolingOlympia
Alison OhashiMontesano
* - Named overall $5,000 Winner
Washington Youth Soccer

Washington Youth Soccer • 500 S. 336th St. Suite 100 • Federal Way, WA 98003
1-877-424-4318 (Toll Free) • (253) 4-SOCCER (476-2237)

PlayOn! is published by Varsity Communications, Inc.
12510 33rd Ave NE, Suite 300 Seattle WA 98125 206-367-2420
For advertising information, please email Brent Vander Mey at Varsity Communications, Inc.

Top | Washington Youth Soccer Homepage